IF Illustration Friday: SIMILAR shadows

December 9, 2008 at 2:12 pm | Posted in Birds, friends, girl, IF, illustration friday, princesstomato | 21 Comments

Sketch of Girl and Bird

Sketch of Girl and Bird


Quick sketch of a girl who found an egg. She hopes it is similar to the ones mama bird has been sitting on in the nest above.

My favorite part of this is actually how the shadow of the girl’s hands ended up looking similar to a bird shadow–the kind we form with our hands to appear on a wall. How serendipitous!

The actual sketch has more design elements to it, such as the branches and leaves forming a heart-shaped border around the girl. I played around with the albeit-horrible-scan in Photoshop, and learned that I can move things parts of drawings around, resize them, adjust perspective, etc. Wow! So I was able to make the girl smaller and move her so that she is under the tree more. I may have distorted her a bit in the process. I am such a beginner at PS, and am amazed what can be done with it. I know I could have drawn it by hand five times over in the time I spent playing, but I am trying to learn new things. Eventually I will get to figuring out how to make and use customized brushes.

Anyway, we are covered in snow here and life is good. Have a great day!

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. AHHH! princess tomate-er! I am just above you on IF!
    This is sooo cute! And such a great perspective! Nice idea its so creative!

  2. awww, thanks candace! my favorite part is how the shadow of the girl’s hands look like a “BIRD SHADOW”, but in the scan it kind of looks like the shadow is her feet.

    i saw your post for SIMILAR! love it! 🙂

    teri

  3. lovely work and nice style. your experimenting has produced a nice piece. love your comments about the picture. her hands compliment the similar theme in how they are similar to the bird. well done

  4. Very nice sketch. I like the composition and the girl’s expression. You will grow to love Photoshop, layers and the ability to multiply them are the best.

  5. I really like the compostion on Teri!

  6. Beautiful, really beautiful work!
    regards
    Rui Sousa

  7. This is WONDERFUL Teri!! Love the sketch.

  8. thanks, gai!
    jennifer, oh i am skeeeered of all the layers, but i do think they will eventually be my best friends. 🙂
    thanks, roberta, rui, and kate!

    teri

  9. Lovely illo! I really like the perspectve you used, a nice change and the little girl’s expression really softens the pic.

  10. Wonderful drawing and original concept!

  11. How lovely, your line drawing is very fresh, like that very much.

    🙂

  12. Great perspective and I reeeeally like this sketch, the line quality is so tender and lyrical. I like this side of you Teri, heee!

  13. beautiful! great perspective.

  14. Love the perspective on this! And thanks for the kind words about my tote. xo

  15. oh this is so beautiful, love the angle you drew.
    Thanks for visiting me!

  16. Thank you for the lovely words on my blog, and for stumbling across it and pointing me toward yours. Your drawing is beautiful – adorable. The book I speak of I ordered online and the post has a link to the publisher’s online store. Please, do read it. It’s been an insightful, thought-provoking piece for me.

  17. Thanks for taking time to leave a comment.
    We have a similar perspective…litarally. Great character in the girls face. Great work, keep up the PS practice!

  18. eek, i am behind in responding/thanking! thanks everyone!

    teri

  19. Thanks Teri for all the work you are doing with TDD and for asking me in!

    You are Fabu awarded to you! http://www.robertabaird.blogspot.com/2008/12/fabulous-award.html

  20. I love it, I love it, I love it!
    Cata

  21. that is precious!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

