Illustration Friday: Tales and Legends

February 1, 2008 at 6:36 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 24 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Many of you know my dad has been fighting lung cancer since we found out late summer/early fall that he has it. He has been enduring chemo and radiation and yet the cancer has been spreading quite rapidly. We have been in the hospital since Sunday, and things are very much touch and go. I hope it is ok that I am asking for prayers for him at this challenging time. 

 king of dads

Just as Elvis is a legend in music history, my dad is a legend in the book of fatherhood.  Full of love, life, ideas, and charisma.  Singing has always been a big part of my dad’s being, and I have countless memories of dancing and singing with my dad.  One of hundreds of songs dad liked to sing before his throat started hurting so much is “Blue Suede Shoes” by Elvis. 

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. prayers for your father, Princess tomato. *HUGS*

    Your Elvis is awesome. Rock on!

  2. Sending prayers, hugs, and good vibes your way.

  3. My prayers go out to your father, Teri.

  4. Dancing with your father. What wonderful memories from your childhood. He sounds like a WONDERFUL Dad! I am thinking of you and your family. Lots of prayers sent your way from Texas.

  5. My prayers are dfeinitely with you Teri. So sorry that you and your family have to be going through this 😦

  6. Teri, I had no idea what you and your family are going through with your dear father. I am keeping you in my thoughts, please keep us posted, best wishes to your dad…Your “tales and legends” piece is phenom, as is your usual…I’m never disappointed when I visit your artsy blog! : )

    take care doll,
    *hugs*

    a : )

  7. Teri,

    Our prayers and thoughts are with you at this difficult time, May God hear our prayers and answer them. You are such a wonderful person and friend,my heart goes out to you!

    Jennifer

  8. Teri,We will keep you, your father, and all of your family in our prayers.Laurie

  9. Oh Teri, Of course…..You have my prayers. Just got the email late last night…..I’m praying for you, your family, and your dad. My most sincere best wishes…… Adrienne

  10. Teri,

    Just want you to know I am praying for your dad and your family! I hope things are going ok for you guys!

    Trina

  11. I am a SO SORRY for what you are ALL going through!

    YES, you have my prayers!!!!!

    ~LeAndra
    To the world you may be one person, but to one person… you may be the world!

  12. Consider it done! Prayers going up dear friend!

    Blessings,
    laura >
    PoshPinkPumpkin
    http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/lauragillblack

    “Faith means being sure of the things we hope for and knowing that something is real even if we do not see it.”
    Hebrews 11:1

    “Faith begins when you see God on the mountain and you are in the valley and you know that you’re too weak to make the climb. You see what you need . . . you see what you have . . . and what you have isn’t enough to accomplish anything. . . .” Max Lucado

  13. Oh Teri, I’m so sorry to hear it. You’ll both be in my prayers.

    Marni

  14. I will be praying for your dad.
    Lisa

  15. You and your family are in our thoughts and prayers. I am so sad to hear he is not doing so well. We sure are hoping for the very best. I know how hard this must be for you all right now. Keep us updated as you can. Sending you great big hugs and kisses & lots of love too.

    Jen & Kallie

  16. Aww Teri I am so sorry hon to hear that your family is going thru this right now!! Your family and Dad are in my thoughts and prayers!! Hugs hon!!

    Nicole

  17. many prayers sent your way Teri…… I went thru something very similiar with my Mom a few years ago and the prayers were such a blessing, they gave me such silent strength and honestly got me thru the most trying time of my life….. take care of yourself sweetie….love and (((((hugs)))))
    Gigi

  18. In our prayers here!
    Shannon

  19. Teri,

    My heart goes out to you and your family. We lost both my husbands father and his stepfather this last year to lung cancer and I know how trying this time must be for you all. My thoughts and prayers are with you. Big hugs!

    xoxox,
    Sherry

  20. Oh Teri….your dad as well your whole family are inmy thoughts and prayers…..I’m so sorry you are allgoing through this….
    ~Kathy~

  21. Teri,
    I will say many many prayers for you and your family. I lost my father to lung cancer and it was very painful. Try and keep your head up and talk to him and touch him and let him know you are there.
    Christine

  22. Hi, Teri!!! oh, I am so sorry to hear about your dad!!! My thoughts and prayers are with you forever and always!!!!! xoxo mel–Melinda http://stores.ebay.com/purpleseamstress-fabrics

  23. Oh Teri…. It is ALWAYS ok to ask for prayers. I will really be prayingfor him and for your family…… Lark

  24. Sending good thoughts and prayers to your family and father!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

