Illustration Friday: “PLAIN”

January 18, 2008 at 7:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 16 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

~PLAIN TRUTHS~

Plain truths often come

straight from the eyes of children…

detail2

“If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost. There is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.” Henry David Thoreau

No pressure. 🙂

This is a 36″x48″ canvas I did from a snapshot taken on the last day of summer one and a half years ago. I just loved that moment and so glad we captured it and that I was inspired to paint this. It is literally the only piece of my own art I have kept in the past five years. Everything else has been for clients. This hangs in my studio.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I love this…. I want one of my children!!!!!!!

  2. So true so true! Lovely concept and a nice unique idea for this week!

  3. Oh how beautiful and precious!

  4. You are so good… I didn ‘t realize at first it’s a painting; i thought it was a pretty photograph of your kids!
    It’s so precious…

  5. perfect!

  6. Ths is so inventive and creative and fresh! I love it, and the music on your website even seems to accompany it so well.

  7. very precious and special, now that my kids are all grown i wish i had one of these.

  8. Wow, you’ve got an amazing talent. Really beautiful work.

  9. I can see why! brings joy to the heart and spirit !!! 😛

  10. For a moment, I really thought this was a photo! Amazing talent… you are!!!!!!!!

  11. This is beautiful! I have tried contacting you through e-bay. I would really be interested in hiring you for some hand painted clothing. Please contact me back. avedadiva96@msn.com

    Just gorgeous!!

  12. kim#2 and flora,,, i did transfer the snapshot lightly onto this large canvas,,,and then i painted over the whole thing to make it look like it is handpainted entirely. even in person you cannot tell it is a photo. they are so fun to do and take less time than other types of portraits i have always done.

    kim #1 and micki, i have done lots of these in various themes.

    emila, velvet, claudine, kate, val, and forever young: thanks so much for your comments. hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

    teri

  13. What a beautiful take on the topic. You’ve captured thier innocence and wonderful expressions. I thought this might have been a collage for a moment with photos. Super job!!

  14. Wow, this is so fabulous, so photo real. Very sweet and well done!

  15. Hey Teri
    I love finding old friends through blogs 🙂
    Look at you still painting away – how fun!!! I have always loved your work.
    Good to “see” you again!!!
    Beth

  16. My personal favorite. The means by which you “capture” the spirit of each child is truly incredible. What a fabulous idea to combine the photo with your artistic skills!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

