“Give,” said the Little Stream. But please…no armpit hairs on the deoderant. :)

November 24, 2009 at 11:46 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

So I am running about this past week, just wondering if we could just somehow push a fast forward button and get to say, about December 23. Like every human on the planet right about now, I am extremely overwhelmed. Really have zero right/time to be sitting here trying to sort out all these thoughts I have been running around with lately.

The laundry list rattling in my head might sound familiar, so feel free to fast forward past the italicized stream of consciousness to get to the good part:
Make money-Make- the -home- a home including- getting -all -the- nagging- dog -hair out of- the- corners -once- and- for- al-Get kids to and fro (basketball, scouts for boys, scouts for girls, Church activities for both, homework, after school music,,,,when do we eat? drive drive drive drive some more-…..breathe……
Plan and help with various group activities and dinners, etc…find social security card….oh,
Actual laundry,finish paintings, work on portfolio pieces, paint the walls, clean closets, do I still have a turkey roaster?-volunteer at the school oh tomorrow, sure thing…we need tires. i’m tired. wait i don’t have time to be tired- small town politics ugh- world wide politics ack -all is well though, life is good, will i be able to make everyone feel loved and welcome on Thursday? we don’t need curtains for that, right? just glad we have windows and walls and a roof—it all works out. for real. all good. these are all small things-what about all the real problems people face how can i help???am i teaching my kids enough how to help? ……

I did do the wise thing and just stop, be still, pray, and listen. It helped. Lots. The song that popped into my head after this morning’s prayer was Give, said the little stream. It’s worth a listen. Promise.

I just unpacked the rest of my husband’s suitcase from a short trip he just had to make. I totally got a great big heartfelt smile out of putting the deoderant away. Why? (this is the gem of the whole post):
Because of the conversation I had with my ever-so-honest 9-year-old son while helping my husband pack:

Me: Jake, can Dad take your new deoderant on the plane since you showed me yours is “travel size?”
Thinking first, Jake humbly said: Ok. But can you please tell him not to get armpit hairs on it?

That’s good stuff, people. See, all is well. Truly, truly well.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Oh, that’s funny about the armpit hairs. Where do they learn that, I wonder?!

    My oldest thought it was “Give Said the Little Sring” for YEARS. I asked him how he thought the little string could give and he didn’t have a clue.

    Yes, it’s all good, even the bad, but the bad is so hard that we can’t see the goodness for years and years and by then it turns into funny.

  2. Eww! My daughter would never use the towel in the bathroom in case ‘someone’ had used it for armpits after she’d had an unsavoury incident with it once!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

